Skip to main content
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
Skip to main content

Succeeding with Your K Award

Please note - Succeeding with your K Award will be held virtually until further notice. 

“Succeeding with Your K Award” is a highly interactive and mutually supportive peer-mentoring seminar series. It is designed for early-career faculty or post-doctoral fellows who are supported on National Institutes of Health K awards and meant to help them develop the ability to look at their own work and that of others in a critical but supportive manner. 

Faculty directors and staff include Laura J. Rasmussen-Torvik, PhD, MPH,  division chief and associate professor of Preventive Medicine-Epidemiology; William Schnaper, MD, associate director of Faculty Development,Department of Pediatrics; and Lauren Daniels, NUCATS Center for Education and Career Development (CECD) Senior Program Coordinator. “Succeeding with Your K Award” is offered on the third Monday of the month, September-June, with the exception of January when we meet on the second Monday (January 13th, 2020). The program runs from 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m., typically held in the Rubloff 11th Floor, Lakeview Conference Room (750 N. Lake Shore Drive).  

Our next session will be held on June 15th, 2020 via zoom. 

If you are an early-career faculty member or post-doctoral fellow supported on a National Institutes of Health K award and would like to be added to the invitation list, please email For more information, contact our CECD navigator. 

Succeeding with Your K Award Agenda









12:00pm - 1:30pm



Mentoring Relationships with members of the KL2 Executive Leadership Committee including Mercedes Carnethon, PhD, Vice Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine, NUCATS Center for Education and Career Development, Mary Harris Thompson Professor of Preventive Medicine – Epidemiology and Director; Tamara Isakova, MD, MMSc, Director of IPHAM Center for Translational Metabolism and Health, Associate Professor of Medicine – Nephrology and Hypertension; Bradley Marino, MD, MPP, MSCE, Professor of Pediatrics – Cardiology; Richard Pope, MD, Solovy/Arthritis Research Society Professor of Medicine – Rheumatology; Patrick Seed, MD, PhD, Associate Chief Research Officer for Basic Science, Department of Pediatrics, Chief of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics, Children’s Research Fund Professor of Basic Science, Professor of Pediatrics – Infectious Disease.

Back to top

Participating Institutions: