Coronavirus information for Feinberg.

Skip to main content

Center for Education & Career Development

The Center for Education and Career Development (CECD) is the home of Northwestern University’s education and career development activities and collaborates across Northwestern and our clinical partners to train the entire spectrum of the translational research workforce. Since 2008, CECD has developed and implemented over 14 programs to train a highly skilled research workforce, including early career faculty, post-doctoral fellows, scholars, trainees and clinical research professionals.

The Center includes the Multidisciplinary Mentored Career Development Program (KL2), a multi-disciplinary post-doctoral training program (TL1), two graduate programs, a robust Mentor Development Program, workshops and seminars for early career faculty at Northwestern and training programs for clinical research coordinators and study site staff. Visit our Education and Career Development section to learn more.

Mercedes Carnethon

We are really excited to build on an already solid foundation by integrating new initiatives alongside existing activities. I am particularly thrilled to lead CECD in partnership with Dr. Kalhan as we have seen our careers grow together at Northwestern.”

Mercedes Carnethon, PhD, Co-Director, Center for Education and Career Development

The innovative programs within CECD not only help launch and sustain careers in clinical and translational research, but also endeavor to provide tools and skills to the whole medical community.”

Ravi Kalhan, MD, MS, Director, Master of Science in Clinical Investigation Program and Co-Director, Center for Education and Career Development

Ravi Kalhan

Contact Us

Mercedes Carnethon, PhD

  • Co-Director, Center for Education and Career Development
carnethon@northwestern.edu

Ravi Kalhan, MD

  • Co-Director, CECD
  • Director, Master of Science in Clinical Investigation Program
r-kalhan@northwestern.edu

Kenzie A. Cameron, PhD, MPH

  • Director, NUCATS Mentoring Programs
k-cameron@northwestern.edu

Michael Fleming, MD, MPH

  • Co-Director of the Leadership, Management, and Fiscal Strategies for Clinical Investigators course
m-fleming@northwestern.edu

Phil Hockberger, PhD

  • Co-Director, Leadership, Management, and Fiscal Strategies for Clinical Investigators
p-hockberger@northwestern.edu

Daniel C. Lee, MD

  • Co-Director, Taking Responsibility for the Responsible Conduct of Research Training
dlee@northwestern.edu

Richard McGee, Jr., PhD

  • Director, Navigating the Research Enterprise Program and Taking Responsibility for the Responsible Conduct of Research Training
r-mcgee@northwestern.edu

Susanna McColley, MD

  • Director, TL1 Program
SMcColley@luriechildrens.org

Laura Rasmussen-Torvik, PhD

  • Director of RAMP

Sharon Rosenberg, MD

  • Director, Good Clinical Practice and Research Staff Training
sharon-rosenberg@northwestern.edu

Evan Scott, PhD

  • Co-Director, TL1 Program
evan.scott@northwestern.edu

Leena Sharma, MD

  • Co-Director, KL2 Program
l-sharma@northwestern.edu 

Tamara Isakova, MD, MMSc

  • Co-Director, KL2 Program
tamara.isakova@northwestern.edu

Yvonne Lee, MD, MMSc

  • Director, Succeeding With Your K Award Series

Yvonne.lee@northwestern.edu

 


Participating Institutions: